التمويل

سياقنا

تحتلّ الحركات النسوية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا مكانةً رائدة وشجاعة في النضال من أجل الارتقاء بحقوق النساء ومجموعات الميم وضمان قدرة هذه الجماعات على العيش بأمان وعافية وسعادة. فهي تسخّر قواها لتأسيس وقائع نسوية عادلة ولإيصال أصواتها المستقلّة على الرغم من كَونها عرضةً لحملات هجومية اجتماعية وسياسية. على الرغم من ذلك، وكَوننا صندوقاً تأسّس من قِبل ومن أجل النسويات في المنطقة، نحن نُدرك أن الحركات النسوية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا - لا سيّما الحديثة النشأة منها - تعاني من صعوبات كبيرة في ما يتعلّق بتوفير التمويل لعملها الهام. تكون هذه الحركات ملمّة تماماً بسياقها ولديها روابط وثيقة مع النساء والمجموعات المنتمية إلى مجتمعات الميم، لكنهاغالباً ما تُخفق ضحيةً لعوائق التمويل الدولي وتضطرّ إلى إيقاف نشاطها بسبب غياب الموارد.

تظهر حركات نسوية جديدة ذات أفكار ابتكارية كل يوم في المنطقة، وهي تطرح أسئلة جديدة وتعتمد وسائل جديدة وتتحدّى نماذج النشاط النسوي القديمة في المنطقة من أجل تطوير حقوق النساء والمجموعات المنتمية إلى مجتمع الميم. غالباً ما تتحلّى هذه الجماعات بالجرأة وتولّد ديناميكيات تقدّم باستمرار حلولاً ومفاهيم جديدة من أجل إحداث التغيير وتحفيزه لصالح النساء والمجموعات المنتمية إلى مجتمعات الميم في مجتمعاتها. لكنها للأسف تعاني من شحّة التمويل بسبب تحدّيات عدّة بما فيها الفجوات اللغوية، سوء سبل الاتصال بشبكة الإنترنت، عدم الإلمام الكافي بالإفاضات المُستخدمة في صياغة العروض، غياب الحسابات المصرفية، متطلّبات تقديم التقارير، روابط شخصية قليلة جداً أو معدومة مع الجهات المانحة، ومحدوديّة توفّر الأموال التي تدعم إنشاء الحركات بدلاً من الأنشطة. 

تحاول الحركات النسوية القائمة في المنطقة مواصلة عملها وتوسيع نطاق نشاطها على الرغم من السياق المحدود والصعب التي تعمل في إطاره، إضافةً إلى غياب التمويل اللازم لدعم عملها. كذلك، غالباً ما يتمّ إنتاج المعرفة "حول" الحركة النسوية في المنطقة مع النظر إلى الناشطات كوكلاء للمعلومات/المعرفة المحلّية، ونادراً كنسويّات محلّيات وباحثات ملتزمات يعملنَ من أجل إحداث تغيير في بلدانهنّ وقادرات على التعريف بعملهنّ أو اقتراح سردٍ خاص عن تجاربهنّ.  

الدول المؤهلة

الجزائر
الأردن
سلطنة عمان
السودان
البحرين
الكويت
فلسطين
سوريا
مصر
لبنان
قطر
تونس
ليبيا
المملكة العربية السعودية
الإمارات العربية المتحدة
العراق
المغرب
الصومال
اليمن
موريتانيا

البرامج

نعمل من أجل وصول هذه المجموعات إلى تمويل أفضل وأكبر لمواصلة عملها وتطويره وتوضيح أولوياتها الخاصة وإنتاج معرفة محلّية من خلال ثلاثة برامج لتقديم المِنح:

Grantmaking

Our Context

Feminists groups in the MENA region are courageously leading the fight to advance the rights of women & LGBTQ+ groups and to ensure that they are able to lead safe, healthy and happy lives. They are harnessing their power to create feminist and just realities and to make sure that their independent voices are heard loud and clear, despite being the targets of social and political backlash. However, as a fund created by and for the feminists of the region, we know that feminist groups in the MENA region - especially nascent ones - face hardship when it comes to securing funding for their important work. These groups have the best in-depth knowledge of their contexts and the closest connections to women and LGBTQ+ groups in their communities, but they often fall through the cracks of international funding and are forced to stop their work due to the lack of resources.

New feminist groups with fresh ideas are appearing in the region every day; they are asking new questions, engaging with new tools, and challenging older paradigms of feminist activism in the region to advance the rights of women & LGBTQ+ groups. These groups are often bold and generate dynamics that constantly come forth with new solutions and concepts to create and catalyze change for women and LGBTQ+ groups in their communities. Yet, they are consistently underfunded, due to several challenges including language gaps, poor IT connectivity, lack of familiarity with verbiage used in proposal writing, no bank accounts, difficult reporting requirements, minimal to no personal connections with donors and limited availability of funds that support movement building rather than activities.

Established feminist groups in the region are struggling to continue their work and to expand its scope given the constraining and controlling contexts in which they operate, in addition to the lack of funds necessary to support their work. Moreover, knowledge is often produced “on” the region’s feminist movement with activists being seen as surrogates of local knowledge/information, but rarely are the local feminists and engaged scholars working to catalyze change in their countries able to produce knowledge about their own work or create their own narratives.

Programs

We work to make sure that these groups have access to more and better funding to continue and develop their work, articulate their own priorities and produce local knowledge through our 3 grantmaking programs:

Funding priorities

For our first round of grantmaking, we are accepting applications from groups working on 4 interconnected issues.